RSS

Rooftop

10 Jul

I’m moving next weekend to a fancy apartment complex in Gangnam-gu. I’ll miss the convenience of my present abode, which is in five minute walking distance of three subway lines, as well as the view from the nineteenth floor.

Sometimes, either early in the morning or late at night, I venture to the rooftop three stories up and wail on my saxophone. The reverberations off of adjacent buildings and the general spread of sound are quite spectacular, and I occasionally wonder how well it carries, and who is privy to the racket.

The evenly spaced concrete slabs provide interesting acoustics.

Their tops are adorned with clusters of vents

Namsan is clearly visible even on this foggy day.

It’s even possible to spy on activities taking place at the Yongsan base.

I won’t have such opportunities at my new place. Not even sure I’ll be able to play sax in the apartment, which was another perk of this officetel. Just hope the positives, mainly increased space and better area for business, balance out the negatives.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on July 10, 2008 in Seoul Days, What I'm Up To

 

Tags: , ,

One response to “Rooftop

  1. David Beecroft

    August 12, 2008 at 5:30 am

    Hello! I am a jazz musician and music teacher living in Berlin.
    Could you tell me a little about the jazz scene in Seoul. How is it there? Do you play in public?

    Thanks,

    David

     

Leave a Reply

 
