RSS

Bunnies For Sale

15 May

Once or twice a week, as I’m on my commute home, I see this ajumma stationed on the walkway upstairs while I’m transferring from line 2 to 1 at 시청역 City Hall Station.

She has a box full of bunnies for sale:

From this shot it almost looks like she’s alone back to the wall just hanging with the bunnies, but no there a more or less steady stream of people walking by, I just happen to be the first heading this way because I run to catch the train that departs less than two minutes after my train arrives (it’s always a close call, but I usually lose and have to wait another five minutes or so). I slowed my pace for a few steps to take this shot and am surprised it came out as clear as it did.

I can’t imagine that she sells too many bunnies. Doesn’t seem like an impulse purchase to begin with, and when you’re transferring from one subway line to another the idea of stopping to buy a bunny becomes somewhat absurd. Even with her consistently reappearing, I don’t imagine that desire building up over time… “Oh shit should I buy that bunny” or “Damn I wish I had time to buy a bunny, if she’s here next week I just might it!”

A quick search for 토끼 lead to this cover pic for Korean version of The Book of Bunny Suicides, which is all the translating there is to be done. I had completely forgotten about this book but it’s worth embedding a corresponding youtube vid:

Another very interesting result showed itself in my Korean dictionary search which turned up this:

bunny fuck 《미·비어》 n. 짧은 시간 동안의 성교

━ v. 급하게 성교하다

Thanks to not being 19, I’m not allowed to search these terms in Korea and am thus unable to attempt to derive some meaning from them… maybe when I’m older.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 15, 2008 in Korean Language, Seoul Days

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “Bunnies For Sale

  1. Sam

    May 17, 2008 at 3:05 am

    Yeah, Ju Hee told me once a while ago that 토끼 is slang for a quickie.

    And 떡볶이 is slang for sex during menstruation.

     
  2. linguist

    June 7, 2008 at 7:22 pm

    actually the the word 비-미어 means amarican slang.

     

Leave a Reply

 
