RSS

20 Koreans and a Caucasian walk into a Chinese restaurant…

02 Jan

No it’s not the start of a racist joke, it’s just the end of year party at my college. We dined at a Chinese restaurant (I meant to grab their card) famous for Peking Duck, which was excellent, but I wasn’t crazy about the seafood-laden side-dishes. One of these looked like a plate of mushrooms in brown sauce, but wound up being sea cucumbers. I couldn’t get over the unwelcome surprise of its taste and texture.

Anyway, it seemed to me like the main course was alcohol. The drinking started before the meal was served. There was an extended series of toasts with each person tagging own catchy chant at the end. The liquor was a Chinese concoction noted for its lack of hangover. Things got a bit silly when the dean opened up a bottle of Bombay Sapphire and started pressuring his workers to take straight shots. I managed to show that I could hold my own and didn’t get completely trashed. I left with a new perspective into the ways of Korean office parties.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 2, 2008 in Seoul Days, What I'm Up To

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “20 Koreans and a Caucasian walk into a Chinese restaurant…

  1. Bob Dodge

    January 3, 2008 at 11:09 am

    Every party needs a token caucasian.

    I try not to miss any of your entries. It’s like experiencing Korean culture vicariously.

    Trebor 32

     

Leave a Reply

 
