RSS

Employee Check-Up

20 Jun

I received my employee check-up at the campus healthcare center today.

Interestingly, it was administered by about 10 different people.

First I dropped off a couple sheets to a male secretary, then he pointed me in the direction of the check-up merry go round.

I had to wait in line for about a minute before starting off with an eye test administered by a rather attractive nurse, who looked to be half-Indian. I definitely noticed blurriness in my left eye, but was told that my vision was quite satisfactory.

Running counter clockwise I came next to the audiologist. She gave a rather brief test, involving four beeps total, which I surprisingly passed with flying colors. I always failed these sorts of tests in elementary, so perhaps this was just a case of lowered expectations. I know for certain that my hearing hasn’t gotten any better since then.

At the next table was a nurse administering a blood pressure test. She pulled double duty, also handing out a cup with a strip for me to pee on. No lollipop? I went to the bathroom and went into a squatter stall to pee on the strip, but when I came out I noticed a bunch of guys holding the cup in the urinal and peeing on it that way. Korean style?!?!

There was a brief wait for the blood test lady, so I had to stand around and hold my pee-sodden strip. Before I sat down the nurse had me hold the strip in front of her, she glanced at it for a second and then had me throw it into a giant trash bucket which contained hundreds of soiled pee strips. I took a seat between her and the bucket, she withdrew some blood, applied a band-aid and told me to leave it on for one hour.

Then came the dentist. She asked me if I could speak Korean (as did everyone else up to this point, excluding the first nurse) to which I replied 잘 못해요/ Not well. Then she started speaking in perfect, unaccented English, asking if I had understood all the questions on the dental form, which were all in Korean. I admitted that a friend had assisted me, though I could understand a fair bit on my own. I told her about my recent trip to the dentist, and she said everything looked great.

Finally I came to a general consultant, who was supposed to ask about my health background and discuss my results. First, he told me, in Korean, that he doesn’t speak English well. Then he asked, in English, if I had any bad medical history. No, good. Next, he said my blood pressure was very good at 115/75, and very stable. He remarked that my vision is quite good, and my right eye, specifically, is an ‘eagle-eye’. Finally, he said that I’m Superman and made a big-muscle gesture. Awesome.

However, my journey did not end there. I was directed outside to an X-ray bus for a chest x-ray.

The X-ray Bus

In regard to space, there is no reason that this machinery couldn’t be held in the center. My first attempt at rationalizing this was to think that perhaps there is not enough of a regular demand for x-rays on campus to necessitate housing this machinery in the healthcare center itself. But, is there, counter to that, a greater demand for an x-ray office on wheels?

Resolved not to think about it any further and just enjoy the ride, I walked in through the front door. Sadly the bus didn’t go anywhere. But, it was still great!  I took my shirt off, got in position for a quick snapshot of my chest and exited the back in two minutes flat.

The overall physical took about half an hour, and I was nearly always moving! Best physical ever.

Up up and away!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 20, 2008 in Seoul Days, What I'm Up To

 

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

